IB Diploma

International (1)
The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme is a rigorous two-year curriculum widely recognized by the world’s leading universities and offered at Year 5 (Grade 11) for students aged 16-19 years.
Components of IB assessment include:

The EE has a prescribed limit of 4,000 words. It offers the opportunity to investigate a topic of individual interest in one of the student’s DP subjects, and equips students with independent research and writing skills expected at university.

The interdisciplinary TOK course is designed to provide coherence by exploring the nature of knowledge across academic disciplines, encouraging critical thinking and an appreciation of divergent human perspectives.

Participation in CAS activities encourages students to be involved in the arts, sports and community service work, fostering students’ personal and interpersonal development outside the academic arena.

Students study six subjects selected from various IB subject groups. At least three subjects should be studied at Higher level (each subject involving 240 teaching hours), and the remaining three subjects studied at Standard level (each subject involving 150 teaching hours).

Subjects offered:

The IB subjects offered at HCIS are:

Subject Group Subject Offered at HCIS
“Group 1” Studies in Language and Literature
  • English Language and Literature
  • Chinese Language and Literature
  • Other Language A: Korean
“Group 2” Language Acquisition
  • English B
  • Chinese B
  • Mandarin Ab Initio
  • Other Language B
“Group 3” Individuals and Societies
  • Economics
  • Business Management
  • Geography
  • History
“Group 4” Sciences
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
“Group 5” Mathematics
  • Mathematics
“Group 6” The Arts
  • Film
  • Replaced by a subject from Group 3 or Group 4
Core Components
  • Extended Essay (EE)
  • Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
  • Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS)

Each of the six subjects is given a final grade of 1 – 7 (7 being the highest) with a possibility of 3 extra points for Extended Essay and TOK. Failure to meet CAS requirements or an ‘E’ grade in either TOK or EE can result in students not being awarded the Diploma. (Please refer to ibo website for additional requirements). This gives a final maximum mark of 45. A Diploma is awarded upon attaining 24 points and meeting all IB requirements.

Universities will give conditional offers requiring a specific number of points. The offers will depend upon the standing of the university and the popularity of the subject.

Please see the IB Academic Integrity Policy.